Serving Bel Air, Benedict Canyon, Beverly Hills. Brentwood, Laurel Canyon, Los Feliz, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Melrose, Santa Monica, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Topanga, Canyon, Westwood & Hollywood Hills.



facebook Canyon News twitter Canyon News

Canyon News

Bel Air News

Beverly Hills News

Brentwood News

Hollywood Hills News

Laurel Canyon News

Los Angeles News

Los Feliz News

Malibu News

Melrose News

Pacific Palisades News

Santa Monica News

Sherman Oaks News

Studio City News

Topanga Canyon News

West Hollywood News

Westwood News

Woodland Hills

Celebrity News

State News

National News

World Headlines

Deaf News





On the Industry

Star Gazing

St. John's Confidential File

Theatrical Musings

Life & Style

Miller Time






Gardening With Tony


UCLA: Keeping It Bruin





Point of View

Labor Week



“...Hustle,” “12 Years”¦” Lead Critic Choice
Posted by LaDale Anderson on Dec 16, 2013 - 3:56:42 PM

HOLLYWOOD—In a continuation of the boatload of nominations that came out last week, the 19th Annual Critic Choice Movie Awards were announced on Monday, December 16. Leading the pack of nominees were the films “12 Years a Slave” and “American Hustle” which each earned 13 nominations apiece including Best Picture.  Followed closely behind were “Gravity” with 10 nominations. The Critic Choice Awards is compromised of members from the Broadcast Film Critics Association.


At this point, its safe to predict that three frontrunners for the Best Picture are “12 Years a Slave,” “Gravity” and “American Hustle,” all amazing pictures that will be tough to defeat. The event will be televised live on The CW Network on January 16 and will be hosted by comedian and talk show host Aisha Tyler.   A list of some of this year’s nominees are listed below:

Bradley Cooper and Christian Bale are both nominees for "American Hustle."


Best Picture
“American Hustle”
“Captain Phillips”
Dallas Buyers Club”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Saving Mr. Banks”
“12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”


Best Actor
Christian Bale “American Hustl”
Bruce Dern “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor “12 Years a Slave”
Tom Hanks “Captain Phillips”
Matthew McConaughey “Dallas Buyers Club”
Robert Redford “All Is Lost”


Best Actress
Cate Blanchett “Blue Jasmine”
Sandra Bullock “Gravity”
Judi Dench “Philomena”
Brie Larson “Short Term 12”
Meryl Streep “August: Osage County”
Emma Thompson “Saving Mr. Banks”


Best Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi “Captain Phillips”
Daniel Bruhl “Rush”
Bradley Cooper “American Hustle”
Michael Fassbender “12 Years a Slave”
James Gandolfini “Enough Said”
Jared Leto “ Dallas Buyers Club”


Best Supporting Actress
Scarlett Johansson “Her”
Jennifer Lawrence “American Hustle”
Lupita Nyong’o “12 Years a Slave”
Julia Roberts “August: Osage County”
June Squibb “ Nebraska”
Oprah Winfrey “Lee Daniels’ The Butler”  


Best Young Actor/Actress
Asa Butterfield “Ender’s Game”
Adele Exarchopoulos “Blue Is the Warmest Color”
Liam James “The Way Way Bac”k
Sophie Nelisse “The Book Thief”
Tye Sheridan “Mud”

Leonardo DiCaprio is a nominee for "The Wolf of Wall Street."


Best Acting Ensemble
“American Hustle”
“August: Osage County”
“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”
“12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”


Best Director
Alfonso Cuaron “Gravity”
Paul Greengrass “Captain Phillips”
Spike Jonze “Her”
Steve McQueen “12 Years a Slave”
David O. Russell “American Hustle”
Martin Scorsese “The Wolf of Wall Street”


Best Original Screenplay
Eric Singer and David O. Russell “American Hustle”
Woody Allen “Blue Jasmine”
Spike Jonze “Her”
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Bob Nelson “ Nebraska”


Best Adapted Screenplay
Tracy Letts “August: Osage County”
Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke “Before Midnight”
Billy Ray “Captain Phillips”
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope “Philomena”
John Ridley “12 Years a Slave”
Terence Winter “The Wolf of Wall Street”


Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki “Gravity”
Bruno Delbonnel “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Phedon Papamichael “ Nebraska”
Roger Deakins “Prisoners”
Sean Bobbitt “12 Years a Slave”


Best Editing
Alan Baumgarten, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers “American Hustle”
Christopher Rouse “Captain Phillips”
Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger “Gravity”
Daniel P. Hanley, Mike Hill “Rush”
Joe Walker “12 Years a Slave”
Thelma Schoonmaker “The Wolf of Wall Street”


Best Visual Effects
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Iron Man 3”
Pacific Rim”
“Star Trek into Darkness”


Best Animated Feature
“The Croods”
“Despicable Me 2”
Monsters University”
“The Wind Rises”


Cliffside Malibu




Serving Bel Air, Benedict Canyon, Beverly Hills. Brentwood, Laurel Canyon, Los Feliz, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Melrose, Santa Monica, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Topanga, Canyon, Westwood & Hollywood Hills.