National News
Women Win In 2012 Elections
By Jennifer Alcaraz
Nov 10, 2012 - 4:04:36 PM

UNITED STATES—President Barack Obama secured his current position Tuesday, November 6, defeating Mitt Romney with 303 Electoral Votes. All eyes were awaiting the victory speech from Obama as well as the concession speech from Romney.  This year’s elections allowed women to win in various sectors of politics.


The state of New Hampshire will now count with an all-female congressional delegation. Carol Shea-Porter and Ann McLane won over Republican candidates Frank Guinta and Charlie Bass for the U.S. Senate as well as Democrat Maggie Hasan who was elected governor.

Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren.

New Hampshire was the first state to have a female governor back in 1999. Democrat Tammy Baldwin, the first openly-gay Representative, will now be part of the U.S. Senate. There are now a total of 20 female Senators, a new record. Republican senators Olympia Snowe from Maine and Kay Bailey Hutchinson from Texas will be retiring, but this is not expected to have an impact on female representation in the U.S. Senate.


Attorney General Heidi Heitkamp is the first woman elected to Congress representing the state of North Dakota. Maizie Hirono is Hawaii’s first Asian-American female senator.  Democrat Elizabeth Warren was elected to the U.S. Senate from the state of Massachusetts.


Current senators who ran for re-election won once more. Maria Cantwell from Washington, Kirsten Gillibrand from New York, Amy Klobuchar from Minnesota, Debbie Stabenow from Michigan, Claire McCaskill from Missouri, and Dianne Feinstein from California won their races on during Tuesday’s election.

© Copyright 2007 by