Theatrical Musings
AMA Awards A Hit Last Weekend
By Tommy Garrett
Apr 11, 2011 - 2:51:07 PM

HOLLYWOOD—For 83 years, the movie industry has had the Oscars®. For 65 years, Thespians have had their Tonys®. For 63 years, the television arts have had the Emmys®, and for 63 years, the field of music has had the Grammys® and now, for 43 years, the world of Illusion and magic has had, unofficially, their Miltons (If they named it after its co-founder, Milt Larsen).

Despite the fact that the artistry of illusion and magic can trace its roots as far back as the Egyptian Pharos - predating film and television my centuries - they are younger sibling of the award shows. On April 10, many of the world’s greatest illusionist, magicians and slight of hand experts gathered to honor their own. Performers of international acclaim, such as Jean-Philippe Loupi, Topas, Dominic Lacasse, Jonathan Pendragon and An-Ha-Lim took center stage at the Avalon Hollywood Theatre, under the skillful direction of their host, Jonathan Levit (From ABC’s Flash Forward, Fox’s Master of Illusions and VH1’s Celebracadabra).


Selected honorees and nominees for 13 categories were on hand to receive accolades from their peers. Tonight's winners included: Dana Daniels (Stage Magician of the Year); Andrew Goldenhersh (Parlour Magician of the Year); David Regal (Lecturer of the Year) and the first female nomination and winner of Close-up Magician of the year, Suzanne. Other coveted awards went to: eight time TONY award winner from “Liza” to “LA Cage,” Jules Fisher, who received the Special Fellowship Award; for entertaining US Troops and Iraqi/Afghani children in Army hospitals, William Scott Anderson received the Award of Merit; Bob White (Performing Fellowship Award); Franz Harary (Performing Fellowship Award); Stan Allen (Literary Fellowship Award); Jeff Black (Junior Achievement Award); Dean Dill (Creative Fellowship Award); Topas (Magician of the Year); John Daniel (Lifetime Achievement Award) and, following in the steps of greats such as Sigfried & Roy and Harry Blackstone, Lance Burton was this years recipient of the Masters Fellowship Award.


Presenters for this year's celebration included Rico Rodriguez (Modern Family), Keith David (The Cape), Marina Sirtis (Star Trek: The Next Generation), Jack Davenport (Pirates of the Caribbean) as well as a star studded audience that included Kate Linder, Tippi Hedren, Raini Rodriguez, Alison Arngrim, Romi Dames, Quentin Aaron, Dawn Olivier, Richard Sherman and Fred Willard.


The Academy of Magical Arts, Inc. is a non-profit social order of nearly 6000 members worldwide devoted to the advancement of the art of magic. One of their primary focuses is to promote a positive image of magic and magicians. The organization promotes the art of magic, encourages fellowship and maintains the highest ethical standards for the art. Their clubhouse, the Magic Castle, is one of the most unique private clubs in the world. It is a Victorian style mansion turned into a clubhouse where members and their guests enjoy world-class magic and magicians share their trade secrets with each other.

Photographs Courtesy: Karl Hendler

1) Composer Richard Sherman and Magic Castle co-founder Milt Larsen 2) Alison Arngrim, Lance Burton and Kate Linder at post party event 3) Cast of “For The Record: Baz Luhrmann” 4) Opening number with cast of “For The Record: Baz Luhrmann” 5) Host Jonathan Levit

© Copyright 2007 by