Beverly Hills News
2013 Nicholl Screenwriting Competition Begins
By LaDale Anderson
Feb 13, 2013 - 6:17:38 AM

BEVERLY HILLS—The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have begun accepting entries for the 2013 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. Up to five $35,000 fellowships will be awarded to recipients in November.


The fellowships are awarded with recipients understanding they will complete a new feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences acquire no rights to the works of Nicholl fellows and will not involve itself commercially in any facet for the completed scripts.



In 2012, the competition saw more than 7, 197 entries. Since the start of the program in 1985, more than 128 fellowships have been awarded. The Nicholl Fellowships competition is open to any individual who has not earned more than $25,000 from the sale or option of screenplays or teleplays, or received fellowships or prizes of more than $25,000 that also includes a “first look” clause, an option or any other quid pro involving the writer’s work.


Past fellowships have gone on to garner success in movies and television like Destin Cretton who directed “Short Term 12” from his fellowship-winning screenplay; the picture is expected to premiere at South by Southwest in March.  Rebecca Sonnenshine is the executive story editor for the The CW’s “The Vampire Diaries.” While Creighton Rothenberger co-wrote “Olympus Has Fallen” which is expected to hit theaters in March starring Aaron Eckhart, Gerard Butler, Angela Bassett and Morgan Freeman.  Andrew Marlowe is the creator and executive producer of the hit ABC series “Castle.”  


To be eligible, writers must submit a completed application online, upload one PDF copy of their work in English and pay the entry fee by 11:59 p.m. PST on May 1, 2013.


Entry fee schedule is as follows:


Early deadline: March 1; entry fee US$35
Regular deadline: April 10; entry fee US$50
Final deadline: May 1; entry fee US$65


Online applications, rules and other details are available at

© Copyright 2007 by