Canyon News
Giants Win World Series
By Michael Mintos
Oct 29, 2012 - 7:17:10 AM

Photo courtesy of S.F. Giants Facebook page
DETROIT—For the second time in three years, the San Francisco Giants are the world champions of baseball. In Game 4 of the World Series on Sunday night, they completed a series sweep of the Detroit Tigers winning 4-3 in 10 innings.

San Francisco got out in front first when first baseman Brandon Belt hit a triple in the second inning to score Hunter Pence. The Tigers fought back for the first time in the series when third baseman Miguel Cabrera smacked a two-run homer in the third inning to take a 2-1 lead.

The score stayed that way until the top of the sixth, when Giants catcher Buster Posey put the ball in the stands with a two-run homer to give his team the lead at 3-2. Sensing elimination, the Tigers quickly countered with their own home run in the bottom of the sixth by Delmon Young to tie the game at 3. Great pitching on both sides kept the game deadlocked as each team held the other to no hits going into extra innings.

In the 10th inning, Giants second baseman Marco Scutaro, the MVP of the National League Series, hit an RBI single into center field to score DH Ryan Theriot, who led off the inning with a single of his own. That run proved to be the difference as San Francisco pitcher Sergio Romo shut down a Detroit rally by striking out Cabrera to end the game and the series.

The Giants converged on the mound to celebrate with Romo, who got his third save of the series, and the dugout cleared to create a jubilant celebration in 40-degree weather. Pablo Sandoval, with his 3 home runs in Game 1, was rewarded for his performance by being named MVP of the series. The Giants had been the model of resiliency throughout their first two series of the playoffs, but they wanted to secure a World Series title as quickly as possible against Detroit. In their dismantling of the Tigers, they outscored them 16-6, combined for a 1.42 ERA, and held them to a batting average under .200.

© Copyright 2007 by