Santa Monica News
Pam O'Connor Named Mayor After 4-3 Vote
By Ivetta Babadjanian
Dec 11, 2012 - 9:10:03 AM

SANTA MONICA—City Councilwoman Pam O'Connor was named Santa Monica Mayor for a two-year term during the City Council meeting on Tuesday, December 11. O'Connor succeeds Richard Bloom who was elected to the 50th Assembly District.
Pam O'Connor. Photo courtesy of

Three council members were nominated by their colleagues to serve as mayor and to win the title a nominee needed four votes.
Tony Vazquez had nominated O'Connor, Ted Winterer nominated Kevin McKeown and Terry O'Day nominated Gleam Davis.

The first round of voting had O'Connor voting for herself alongside Vazquez and Bob Holbrook, McKeown voted for himself alongside Winterer and Davis voted for herself alongside O'Day.

The second round of voting was when Winterer proposed McKeown serve as president while Davis served as Mayor Pro Tem for one-year terms and then the two could switch roles after a year. However, the motion did not pass because it only received the support of McKeown and himself. In this round, O'Conner voted for herself again with the support of Vazquez and Holbrook while Davis voted for herself and received the support of O'Day.

Several more rounds with O'Connor, Vazquez and Holbrook voting the same way as they did in the first two rounds. It was when O'Day changed his vote in favor of O'Connor that gave her the 4-3 majority she needed to become Mayor.

O'Connor has served on the Santa Monica City Council since 1994 and has served as mayor five times including the years 1998 to 1999 and 2004 to 2005. She chairs the Board of Directors of the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority and represents the city on the Exposition Light Rail Construction Authority Board.

Additionally, she was recently president of the Southern California Association of Governments. On the city's website O'Connor is described as a "strong advocate for public transit," an "enthusiast urban explorer" and regular user of Santa Monica's Big Blue Bus.

© Copyright 2007 by