SANTA MONICA—During a special meeting on Tuesday, December 11, the Santa Monica City Council the Santa Monica City Council voted in new Mayor Gleam Davis and Terry O’Day as Mayor Pro Tempore.

“Serving the community is an honor and wonderful opportunity to elevate Santa Monicans priorities during an exciting time in the City’s history. We have a lot of work ahead of us,” said Mayor Gleam Davis. “Our beachside city is an inclusive and progressive place. We need to celebrate our successes and tackle the challenges that we face with equitable vigor. Santa Monica is a community that I care for deeply and as mayor, I will listen, learn and provide thoughtful consideration to community questions and ideas that arise during my term.”

Davis served on the city council since 2009 when they selected her to fill the seat left vacant by the passing of Herb Katz and was elected to an additional two-year term in 2010.  She was re-elected in 2012 and 2016. Mayor Pro Tempore Terry O’Day was first elected to the city council in November 2010. He served two years as Mayor Pro Tempore. Outgoing mayor, Ted Winterer is a 25-year Santa Monica resident.

“It has been a wonderful two years to have served the Santa Monica community and as I look back, on my time as Mayor, it has been both exciting and challenging,” said Councilmember Winterer. “There is a long list of accomplishments and a long list of things yet to be done. I look forward to supporting Mayor Davis in her role as our new Mayor and know she will be a strong voice for Santa Monica.”

During the meeting, City Clerk Denise Anderson-Warren certified Santa Monica’s 2018 election results and new board members were sworn in, including Sue Himmelrich, Greg Morena and Kevin McKeown for Santa Monica City Council, Naomi Sultan, Nicole Phillis, and Steve Duron for the Santa Monica Rent Control Board, Laurie Lieberman, Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein, Oscar de la Torre and Craig Foster for Santa Monica/Malibu Unified School District Board and Louise Jaffe, Nancy Greenstein, Sion Roy and Barry Snell for the Santa Monica College Board.

According to the city of Santa Monica website, the city council decided by a 4-3 vote, councilmember Kevin McKeown will serve as Mayor for the second year of the two-year term.