HOLLYWOOD─I think it is safe to say that awards season is upon us people. The nominees for the 2020 Critic’s Choice Awards were announced on Sunday, December 8. Leading the pack of all contenders was the Martin Scorsese drama “The Irishman” with 14 nominations.

The buzz about this flick has been building and it now seems the flick might be a strong contender as we get deeper in the trenches of awards season. On the TV side of things the limited series “When They See Us” picked up six nominations.

Other movies picking up multiple nominations include “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” with 12 nominations, and the World War flick “1917” earned 9 nominations. Picking up double nominations included actresses Laura Dern for “Marriage Story” and “Big Little Lies,” and Scarlett Johansson for “Marriage Story” and “Jojo Rabbit.”

Best Picture


-“Ford v Ferrari”

-“The Irishman”

-“Jojo Rabbit”


-“Little Women”

-“Marriage Story”

-“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”


-“Uncut Gems”

Best Actor

-Antonio Banderas “Pain and Glory”

-Robert De Niro “The Irishman”

-Leonardo DiCaprio “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

-Adam Driver “Marriage Story”

-Eddie Murphy “Dolemite Is My Name”

-Joaquin Phoenix “Joker”

-Adam Sandler “Uncut Gems”

Best Actress

-Awkwafina “The Farewell”

-Cynthia Erivo “Harriet”

-Scarlett Johansson “Marriage Story”

-Lupita Nyong’o “Us”

-Saoirse Ronan “Little Women”

-Charlize Theron “Bombshell”

-Renée Zellweger “Judy”

Best Supporting Actor

-Willem Dafoe “The Lighthouse”

-Tom Hanks “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”

-Anthony Hopkins “The Two Popes”

-Al Pacino “The Irishman”

-Joe Pesci “The Irishman”

-Brad Pitt “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Best Supporting Actress

-Laura Dern “Marriage Story”

-Scarlett Johansson “Jojo Rabbit”

-Jennifer Lopez “Hustlers”

-Florence Pugh “Little Women”

-Margot Robbie “Bombshell”

-Zhao Shuzhen “The Farewell”

Best Young Actor/Actress

-Julia Butters “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

-Roman Griffin Davis “Jojo Rabbit”

-Noah Jupe “Honey Boy”

-Thomasin McKenzie “Jojo Rabbit”

-Shahadi Wright Joseph “Us”

-Archie Yates “Jojo Rabbit”

Best Acting Ensemble


-“The Irishman”

-“Knives Out”

-“Little Women”

-“Marriage Story”

-“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”


Best Director

-Noah Baumbach “Marriage Story”

-Greta Gerwig “Little Women”

-Bong Joon Ho “Parasite”

-Sam Mendes “1917”

-Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie “Uncut Gems”

-Martin Scorsese “The Irishman”

-Quentin Tarantino “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Best Original Screenplay

-Noah Baumbach “Marriage Story”

-Rian Johnson “Knives Out”

-Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won “Parasite”

-Quentin Tarantino “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

-Lulu Wang “The Farewell”

Best Adapted Screenplay

-Greta Gerwig “Little Women”

-Noah Harpster and Micah Fitzerman-Blue “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”

-Anthony McCarten “The Two Popes”

-Todd Phillips & Scott Silver “Joker”

-Taika Waititi “Jojo Rabbit”

-Steven Zaillian “The Irishman”

Best Animated Feature


-“Frozen II”

-“How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”

-“I Lost My Body”

-“Missing Link”

-“Toy Story 4”

The ceremony will be held on Sunday, January 12, 2020 and will be hosted by actor Taye Diggs. The ceremony will air on The CW Network starting at 7 p.m. EST.