SAN JOSE—On Sunday, June 18, the San Jose Sharks disclosed that they have protected 11 players from the upcoming NHL Expansion Draft.

The draft will determine which players the newly established team, the Vegas Golden Knights, may select. One player from each of the 30 teams in the NHL will be chosen by the Golden Knights.

San Jose has chosen to protect forwards Ryan Carpenter, Logan Couture, Jannik Hansen, Tomas Hertl, Melker Karlsson, Chris Tierney, and captain Joe Pavelski. Carpenter and Karlsson were both issued contract extensions this year. Karlsson signed a three-year extension in May, Carpenter signed a two-year extension last week.

Defensemen Justin Braun, Brent Burns, Marc-Edouard Vlasic, and goaltender Martin Jones have also been placed on the protection list. Since first and second-year players are not subject to the draft, the Sharks need not protect Joonas Donskoi (whose contract was extended 2 years in May), Timo Meier, Marcus Sorensen, and Kevin Labanc.

San Jose has listed forwards Mikkel Boedker, Barclay Goodrow, Micheal Haley, Patrick Marleau, Buddy Robinson, Zack Stortini, Joe Thornton, Joel Ward, defensemen Dylan DeMelo, Brenden Dillon, Dan Kelly, Paul Martin, David Schlemko, and goaltenders Aaron Dell, Troy Grosenick, and Harri Sateri as available.

The Sharks organization was not required to protect any players, as none had No Movement Causes.

Vegas is required to select one player from each NHL team to comprise a total of 30 players. They must attain 14 forwards, nine defensemen, and three goaltenders at minimum. The team is to submit their picks by 7:00 a.m. PST on Wednesday, June 21. The Expansion Draft will be held that evening at 5:00 p.m. PST, where the full Vegas roster will be divulged.